Scholarships & Prizes

LAF Scholarships and Fellowships 

Eligible candidates are undergraduate or graduate students enrolled at colleges and universities in the U.S. and Canada. Additional requirements vary by scholarship — for a summary, please see our Scholarship Eligibility Table.

Read more:


LAF Olmsted Scholarship Program 

The LAF Olmsted Scholars Program recognizes and supports students with exceptional leadership potential who are using ideas, influence, communication, service, and leadership to advance sustainable design and foster human and societal benefits.

Named for Frederick Law Olmsted, the father of American landscape architecture, the Olmsted Scholars Program with its $25,000 graduate and $15,000 undergraduate prize is the premier national award program for landscape architecture students. Now in its 11th year, the program recognizes one outstanding student from each accredited landscape architecture program in the U.S. and Canada, along with the jury-selected graduate and undergraduate national award winners and finalists. Students are both honored for past achievements and recognized for their future potential to influence the landscape architecture profession.

Read more:

CELA Fountain Scholar Program

The CELA Fountain Scholar Program is an endowed annual award in recognition and support of Black, Indigenous, and persons (students) of color in landscape architecture with exceptional design skills and who use their skills and ideas to influence, communicate, lead and advance design solutions for contemporary issues in a manner aligned with the original goals of Dr. Charles Fountain.

Read more:


CELA Student Awards

To support and encourage our next generation of landscape architects, The Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture (The CELA) gives annual Student Awards. These awards recognize students’ outstanding performance in Research or Creative Scholarship. The Award includes two main categories: The Research Award, and The Creative Scholarship Award. Students are encouraged to submit their best academic work, which may be based on a research paper, an outstanding studio design project, a thesis, a dissertation, a terminal project, or other acceptable formats for reporting research work reflecting a clear grounding in scientific inquiry and/or design investigation.

Read more:


The Karen Ann Shopis-Fox Memorial Scholarship

The Karen Ann Shopis-Fox Memorial Scholarship is awarded to encourage awareness and education in the field of landscape architecture. Scholarship applicants must be legal residents of the State of Connecticut and enrolled in an accredited landscape architecture program at the college or university level.

Read more: